A Noble Butch Womyn

A while back I had a discussion with another fellow butch and we discussed how many modern day butch lesbians refer to the womyn they are attracted to in the same way that heterosexual men refer to the women they are attracted to. We have both witnessed and even caught ourselves referring to our significant other as “our women” as if we can own them. This is of course sort of counter feminist.

Although our value systems might be slightly different and our priority lists certainly are composed of completely different items, I would still label us both as noble, and it just so happens we are also butch. I can only speak of my own point of view about nobility… it has been on my minds for weeks while I explored the world of drag from a kings perspective. Nobility of course has several meanings but in this instance I am referring to someone who explore morality and values for their own personal growth and then basis their life value system based on the conclusions made in that exploration. Someone who defines their own morals and then makes huge efforts to live within that defined value system. Often the word noble is used when describing kings & princes, but rarely used when describing the female version of these leaders. I conclude that this could be due to our cultures history of defining the laws of our men based on male leadership. Nobility can be held by the strongest of feminists.

Recently I began doing drag as a statement about men, I want to make them human again. I want to show that there is a really amazing way to a feminist man. A man that not only honors and respects women, but also himself. A Romantic Noble Gentleman rose up to become Izzy Ahee. As I sat down to put on my facial hair and stared at my face in the mirror I thought, “Ok I like those labels to help describe the character that I develop for drag but what does that really look like.” I began to apply the spirit gum and the shavings from head and thought…its coming from a place of true love & peace. Nobility is important to counteract what seems to be the exact opposite in the culture of the average man. Often, the average man will say one thing but do another and seem to lack nobility. I believe it is simply because they are victims of the pressures of our culture. It’s the suffering of men. They just can’t be that strong anymore. They want to cry, they want to break, they want us to see them as the gentle creatures they are. It’s like a diamond, under the masses of pressure it shines like a diamond but it can cut like glass. As women heal around the world and begin to push from above we better believe that men are evolving as well. We better expect to see changes from the other side of the spectrum and we should be prepared for their healing.

Often I lead by example, I believe its the best way. In that value I figure living my life with nobility is the best I can do for either side. I can show women they can think for themselves, you can find your own values, and you are capable of holding your ground. I want to lead men to a place of respect for themselves but also for those women in their lives. I want them to understand that other people around them are having a completely different experience and being open to that experience is how we connect with each other. Its how we reach for each other and understand, understanding leads to peace. Peace is the ultimate goal.

So here I am revealed to you as a noble butch womyn! I have always dreamed of living this way and now I am. Here I am with my own values, my own morals, and living a dream with someone else who gets it. I am reclaiming that word as a womyn & a female bodied person. I am noble and I recognize others like me. Their gender or body parts having nothing to do with it!

Published by: striving4balance

I am divinely lead after a lifetime of abuse, neglect and addictions. I have overcome a traumatic childhood, lost 100lbs and inspire to be divinely lead. I recently was inspired to manifest an online publication DiversiTree.org - A Divinely Inspired Online Publication for Inclusive spirituality. I am a Hobbit and male impersonator. I am an aspiring writer and journalist. I want to review YOUR festival, event, place, item, performance, or whatever you might have in mind. I am genderqueer feminist with a passion for love, peace, and happiness. I am gender activist. I am radically out of the box about a lot of topics. I am a humanitarian. I am a passionate yogini. I have a background in scouting for all paths. I am queer, polyamorous, and sex positive. I have a deep burning passion to protect and possibly save the earth, our home planet. Because of my burning passion for the earth I am a committed vegetarian, organic gardner, and farming community supporter. I am an environmentalist and my heros are people like Jane Goodall & John Muir.

Categories UncategorizedTags, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

